

### **Board of Trustees**

**President** Birse Timmons

Vice President Rachelle Aekins

**Recording Secretary** Carmita Hodge

**Corresponding/ Financial Secretary** Marie Carmenati

#### Trustees

Andrea Ackerman Christine Conley Joe Garcia Megan Gilbert Henry Kydd Margaret Milnes James E. Mitchell

Founding Trustee Michael Shapiro

### **Emeritus Trustees**

David Blackwell Jane Lassen-Bobruff Ulysses Hammond Donetta Hodge Reid MacCluggage Mary-Jane McLaughlin Marilyn Percy Marge Poulios Verna Swann James R. Vest Ronald Williams

## The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Trust Fund

Established 1968

### The Board of Trustees of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Trust Fund Announce the 2021 Winners

**New London, Connecticut | September 28, 2021** – For the 53<sup>rd</sup> consecutive year, the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Trust Fund is proud to announce the 2021 scholarship winners:

Amy Carlosvia – Norwich Free Academy, AngelJolee Carter – St. Bernard, JoseManual Castillo – St. Bernard, Mustafa Dannett – New London High School, Cynthia Deneus – Norwich Free Academy, Jason Hicks – Norwich Free Academy, Hannah Lin – Norwich Free Academy, Peter Lucido – New London High School, Nadalia McLeary – Ledyard High School, Elviany Quiroz – Fitch High School, Shayla Roche – Norwich Free Academy, Taina Smith – New London Science and Technology Magnet High School, Sydney Swann –Williams

The 2021 scholars will be recognized at a virtual award ceremony on October 21st. The ceremony will begin at 6:00 p.m. and can be viewed by accessing the MLK livestream at <u>www.mlktrustfund.org/live</u> or on the Trust's Facebook page.

Like the 175 scholars who came before them, this extraordinary collection of 13 young student leaders from New London County high schools were chosen through a rigorous selection process designed to measure their dedication to learning, understanding of Dr. King's mission, content of their character, and financial need. This year's winners were selected after a review of their application, academic records, SAT scores, class standing and written essay. Scholarship winners will each receive \$20,000 dollars, distributed in \$5,000 installments over a four-year period while they remain in college.

The MLK Scholarship Trust Fund was launched in New London County in the days and weeks after the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Since 1968, the MLK Trust Fund has been celebrating the power of education to expand lives and change the world. MLK scholars are academic achievers, community leaders, and talented creators. After completing their post-secondary education, many pursue advanced degrees, careers, and volunteer roles that make a difference globally and beyond. Past scholars include actors, performers, linguists, writers, doctors, lawyers, educators, business leaders, entrepreneurs, business consultants, community activists and more.

# For more information about our 2021 scholars or the virtual awards ceremony, please contact:

Mr. Birse Timmons, President Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Trust Fund 860.446.7189 | birsetimmons2@gmail.com